Thursday, Sept. 23, 2004

Whiffehappy hour, posted at 11:20 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Tonight was a great night, a happy hour at Kiss Cafe in Canton. Since our whiffleball team only got five people there, I don't think we won the prize of a $75 bar tab, but I got to drink all night for free because I'm a coach. I had five Miller Lights, and they tasted oh so good on this warm summer evening as we sat outside and discussed the school year, life in Baltimore, and the Best of Baltimore issue.
As I got drunker and drunker, I began talking more and more like I talk in here - with language fraught with uncertainty about the future. I decided I'm 75% happy with my job, but the potential for more satisfaction is very high because it's been there in the past and I feel like the current situation is a scheduling fuckup and will be made better.
There is a woman at the school who is a little bit older, and she often talks in hyperbole. She's a sweet, kind woman, as well, so having a conversation with her is often an ego boost. Today, she tells me, "Epiphany, more and more I realize that you are the glue that holds this school together." I almost gasped when she said it, but decided to use her comment for political purposes. I said, "Thanks. Now let's get something done about this schedule so I stick around a bit longer then, eh? I've gained 100 students in the last two years alone." She said it was being worked on. That was comforting.
Then I talked about life in Baltimore. Basically summarized a lot of things I've been writing in this journal lately, except I (thankfully) skipped some of the self-pitying discussion of loneliness. Spoke more in terms of starting a family and missing my family, which is just as true.
So, still deciding. Turning it over and over and over. Still in need of upheaval of some sort, but that very well might just mean I've got to laid.
It was a long day at school today, but a good happy hour. Kiss Cafe was impressive - it's not only a bar, it's a coffeeshop, and it's not only a coffeeshop, it's a restaurant. I'll admit I looked for Eebmore offending cute Eastern European waitresses with scantily clad mannequins while getting free wireless. No dice. I did hang out with some good friends and had some good conversation, though, and am looking forward to this whiffleball season.
Tired, am heading to bed.