Tuesday, Sept. 07, 2004

Day 1, Year 4, posted at 5:43 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I had an old education professor who told us that the average person makes 5,000 little decisions each day, but that a teacher makes 8,000. I don't know how that was figured, or if the disparity is accurate, but let me say: Wow, I'm really fucking tired. I was exhausted by the end of first period. My voice is hoarse and I don't think I raised my voice today. It's all from doing the normal teaching thing. Of course, today is a teacher-focused day - it has to be, the first day of school and all. But I've got to get back in teaching shape a bit, that's for sure. I drank gallons of water, it seemed, today to stay hydrated. My eyes hurt. My neck is sore. I feel totally mentally drained. Phew. It's good to be back.

And it really is. My day went well. The ninth graders are like little lambs, saucer-eyed and nervous, going to the wrong classes and getting lost. I love that period at the beginning of the year when they're scared. Love it. I also love the silly questions they ask.

My juniors... well, we'll see about that. I had ten of the 27 kids in my class today as 9th graders. A couple of kids I'm very close with. Today, we went over the syllabus, and it took much less time than in the ninth grade class. So I was like, "Oh shit, what should I do now?" and ended up having them start their homework much earlier than expected and then sharing it a bit. It's going to be an interesting adjustment from 9th to 11th grade. They're also not nearly as scared and wide-eyed. I heard murmurs while others were talking today. Can't have that.

I organized a Happy Hour after school, and we headed to Rocky Run to debrief on the day. I like that place's big tables in the Bar area and the peanuts you can toss on the floor. They are also one of the few places that has Michelob Ultra on tap.

I have free Orioles tickets for tonight's game. I really, really don't want to go. I'm hoping Bill changes his mind, or that it rains. I can barely keep my eyes open.

Anyhow, good day. I'm excited about tomorrow, when I can meet 84 other kids for the first time.