Monday, Aug. 30, 2004

A night of shitty tips, and Laura Branigan is dead?, posted at 11:30 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I arrived at the restaurant at 5pm, wrote down and memorized the specials, and waited. And waited. The first table, a couple, came in at around 7:45. About ten minutes later, two women and two little kids came in to get ice cream and wine. Fifteen minutes after that, a couple came in.

The first couple stayed for a couple of hours, but bought cheap stuff. Luckily, a bottle of wine thrown in there made their check $55, and they tipped me the standard $11. The women and their kids spent $18 on their wine and ice cream, and tipped me $4. The other couple didn't drink alcohol and ordered appetizers as their meals, so they go away with dinner costing only $20.11. They tipped me $6, a nice little bump.

That was it for the night. After tipout, I walked with $15 for six hours of work. Very, very frustrating.

Tired, exhausted, and 5 am is going to come very quickly tomorrow. Still have to type up the test I wrote while I was there.

To top it all off, I just found out that thunder-voiced Laura Branigan died at the way-too-young age of 47. What a bummer. "Gloria" is one of the best bad songs I know. I always confused her with the woman who sang "Total Eclipse of the Heart," though. Bonnie Tyler?