Wednesday, Aug. 18, 2004

My birthday, posted at 1:11 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

My birthday party was a lot of fun. Too much fun, probably, based on how I felt most of the day today. It started off a little worrisome, though. I shared a cab with Seadragon, and we were dropped off near Thirsty Dog Pub, where I planned to stay from 5:30 until 10. I had thought about the Hearts of Palm salad and blueberry ale all day. However, my heart sank when a sign on the door read, "The staff is all drinking up at McSorley's in NYC. We'll be open back up on Tuesday."

I was momentarily pissed off. My favorite bar in Baltimore let me down. I had gone in there on Thursday to check on things for Monday, and the waitress (who, in fairness, was new) told me that things would be fine, that they'd probably close off the upstairs for my group. I didn't make official reservations or anything, but I didn't think I needed to. Bars just don't close on Mondays for no reason.

Anyhow, we sort of stared at the door for a long time, and eventually I decided that I'd put my own sign on the door and send folks along elsewhere. We moved over to Rope Walk, where a friend of mine bartends. It's a Republican Bar, complete with Reagan photos abound and a sandwich called "The Gipper," but is a nice place and I knew we'd get good service. We did.

The rest of the time there went very well. I drank beer, as well as at least a few shots from people. My rule was that if you bought me a shot, that you had to do it with me. It worked. So many people came; it was really great. There were times where I just sort of sat back and looked around, and thought to myself, "Wow, I guess I really have made some nice connections here in Baltimore. Some great friends. It does feel like home." I've been feeling pretty lonely lately in a lot of ways, missing people and family and those feelings you get when someone knows you very well. But last night did confirm for me that the people are here, that I just need to do better on my end. Pick up the phone every now and then. Shit like that.

So friends from my school were there, friends that used to work at school, friends from my softball team, friends of friends, friends whose due date to give birth was August 17, blogger friends... and everyone seemed to get along and it was a great night.

After Ropewalk, we went over to this new bar called the Vineyard, where my friend manages. By the time I got there, I was pretty drunk already. This is where I did embarassing, foolish things, some of which I don't remember that well. I'm pretty sure I told Girl B that she was hot. I'm okay with that, I think. I'm pretty sure I puked in the girl's bathroom, although I'm not sure if I believe it since I can't remember it. I hugged everyone. I spilled beers. I introduced one of my Jewish friends to the other Jewish friend as, "Hey, this is ____ ____berg. You know, BERG, so he's one of you people." He told me today that that was the funniest part of the night.

Anyhow, it was a lot of fun. I was a little embarassed about the second stop, but this girl from work told me today not to be. "You were just having a lot of fun, were totally carefree. I never get to see you like that." Those words actually made me feel pretty good.

Overall, the night was a complete blast, one of the best birthdays I can remember. I got pretty banged up, and I wasn't walking too straight by the end of the night. Today hurt, at least until 8 or 9pm this evening when I think the alcohol level in my system finally dipped. But it was worth it. I also think my making an ass of myself last night was perfect timing, because I'm now heading out of town for five days back to Michigan. There's a good chance I won't be able to visit again until Christmas or so, so I'm looking forward to it.

No Baltimore Blogger Meetup for me, unfortunately, as I'll be in my hometown of South Haven, MI, by then.