Saturday, Aug. 07, 2004

Too cold, posted at 1:38 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

You know, I would much rather have it be hot. F this breezy, overcast, 75-degree weather. That's not why I moved down south.

Stayed up too late, still got up at my usual early time. When I walked into 7-11 this morning for my coffee, I was rubbing my eyes and the guy behind the counter grinned and asked me if I just woke up. Yup. Still, I had a decent workout, although I skipped cardio thinking that I would do it later with Holden. So far, it hasn't happened, but I'm not terribly worried since I ran six miles yesterday; my nipples are sore to prove it.

Life is good, but I hate, hate, hate the fact that I don't get paid in the summer. To be clear, teachers in this district do not have an option for a 12-month paycheck. Most districts do, but not B-More. I saved money this year, so I'm okay, but it pains me to drain all of my savings on rent and amenities since the waiting tables job certainly isn't paying the bills these days. My savings will be gone by the end of August, unless I have a few good nights at the restaurant, and that just sucks. Give me a 12-month paycheck, please. I hate getting laid off for two months every summer.

It makes no sense that we don't have the option. The district could hold on to the money longer and make more interest on it, it seems to me. I guess I shouldn't be surprised, considering so much of how the school system is run is so nonsensical, but I am frustrated by it.

I sort of officially begun house buying searches. I'm still interested in Ednor Gardens, and this house at 901 MCKEWIN AVE looks pretty interesting. I might even go drive by it today on the way to the restaurant. I still probably won't be buying until Jan/Feb, but it doesn't hurt to start looking, especially since I don't have the first clue about buying yet. My roommate used to work for a real estate company, and he let me have his ID for the Mris site, which I think is pretty special. It's certainly useful.

I can't wait for school to start. I just have to finish The Corner, The Island of Dr. Moreau, Frankenstein, MacBeth, and The Bride Price before that can happen.