Saturday, Jun. 19, 2004

O'Malley's march for coffee at 7-11, posted at 2:33 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Yesterday morning, Baltimore mayor Martin O'Malley was at my neighborhood 7-11 where I get my morning coffee every day. The guy even gets his coffee with charisma, talking up a storm with all the employees and telling everyone to have a beautiful day.

Governor in 2006, President in 2012. And I'll be able to say I lived a block from him on Walther Ave, walked my dog by his house, and got my morning coffee with him once.

Apparently, he goes there all the time. The 7-11 employees - who I know so well that I ask them about their vacations and they lend me change when I'm short - told me he's in their almost every day.

***

Today, I went all the way out to the Towson Bally's, but was frustrated with how many people were there. So I turned around, went into Trader Joe's and bought sushi, then went home and had an incredible workout here. Then I cleaned my basement, and took Holden for a half-hour run-walk, the highlight of which is a beautiful little old cemetary nestled between houses in the Lauraville-ish neighborhood across from Safeway. It's amazing to see a cemetary, which probably only had 300 plots or so, have death dates from as early as 1856 to as late as April, 2004.