Thursday, Jun. 17, 2004

France, posted at 11:51 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I've been thinking a lot lately about spending next summer in France, finishing up my Master's through a Michigan State University Program there. At MSU, you do your student teaching post-graduate, so I have 12 Master's credits sitting there staring me in the face, and I haven't done anything with them yet.

I've finally begun checking on the feasibility of doing the program next summer. There are a couple of problems. First off, my credits expire after five years. I figured this was from you last took the credits, but no. According to my contact person, she says that the five years would actually be next year. I don't get it, since I've only lived in Baltimore for three years and that's way different from five years, but I digress. She says there are ways around it, and the person in charge of those decisions is actually, suprisingly, someone I know fairly well from back at MSU. I would also have to take some online credits. That's weird; I can't imagine how that is done.

Anyhow, I'm proud of myself for initiating this. I think spending some more time in Europe will help quell some of this get-out-and-see-the-world vibe, which is something that seems to really come to a head mostly when I'm unhappy with my own life. I mean, I do like to travel and all, but I shouldn't feel a need to move every few years to be happy.

***

The kids are gone. The only ones still coming are those that desperately need to pass the class and I'm having them come in tomorrow to do some work to see if they're ready for the 10th grade. We'll have some serious conversations about responsibility and I'll try to have them make the decision for me. Then, I'll make them clean my classroom and pack my things. I'm almost sure I'll be floating next year from classroom to classroom, so my packing must be much more thorough this year.