Tuesday, Jun. 01, 2004

Contact Lenses, posted at 10:51 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

It's amazing how good it feels to have contact lenses again. I feel like I'm me again. All afternoon, people kept commenting that I looked like I had my eyes wide open for the first time in months. Others just said I looked stoned. I wish.

Everything looked so strange when I put them in. Colors seemed more vibrant, images seemed closer. Then, the optician, the one I liked so much, says that my eye subscription is so poor that the glasses actually make everything clear, but they make everything smaller as well. With glasses, I had a 25-26% de-magnification. With contact lenses, it's only 5-6%. It's amazing the difference. I feel like I did in the 5th grade when I first got glasses. I kept walking around, telling my mom what I could finally see. I think she felt really bad about it, because I never let on that I couldn't see that well, because I never really could compare it to anything. This time, though, I could compare it to before the retinal detachments, so it made it all the more sweeter.

Softball practice was rained out, so we went to Decker's Bar in Locust Pointe, because our friend had her last night of bartending there. She's pretty cute. I drank four beers and ate a half price veggie burger and grabbed a ride with my roommate home. It was a nice time.

Too tired to write more. Need sleep.