Thursday, May. 20, 2004

Abstinence Only?, posted at 6:37 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

News spread across the school today about a vaguely titled "Maryland Assembly." I thought it had something to do with graduating seniors having to fill out a survey, so I was suprised by the loud music from inside the auditorium as I walked by.

I heard from colleagues what it was, though. An abstinence-only assembly, a new thing instituted by Bobby E, our Governor. The same one who thinks multiculturism is bunk.

It's funny the way they set it up - loud, loud hip-hop music, a black female comedienne, then they jumped right into the abstinence talk. Judging by the promotional stuff the kids were able to walk away with, this is an expensive program - and one that won't do much, if any, good, and certainly less than a safe sex education front would do.

The frustration mounted towards the end of the day, when a close look at the calendar and the damn A/B schedule reveals that I have six class periods to teach The Odyssey and Fences. I'm not sure how I get into this shit.

***

Last night, in a profound moment of weakness, I bought Eamon's CD. He is the quintessential one-hit wonder - which I knew. But what I did not know was that his song is much, much better in the edited version. I'm not a prude, but sometimes subtlety works better than the F word.