Saturday, Apr. 10, 2004

Winter over?, posted at 1:41 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

So I've been working a lot at the restaurant as spring break winds down. I haven't accomplished nearly enough this spring break, but luckily I still have three days left.

It was a long night. I closed, meaning I got the best section but had to stay until 1am. Good Friday is one of the restaurant world's slowest days, though, so I didn't do that well.

I did, however, enjoy some of my tables. I've been working out really well now for a while, and am starting to get that sort of confidence boost that had been wavering for a bit. A cute girl came in with a guy and a another girl. At first, I thought she was being really flirty with me, but she might have just been one of those people that exudes warmth. I don't know. But I came really close to asking her out, and only didn't because I didn't know if the guy that was with her was her husband (though no ring) or boyfriend. I just couldn't figure it out, if he was dating the other girl or the cute girl. I kept trying to read body language and stuff, but never was sure enough. I kept hoping she would go to the bathroom so I could strike up a conversation with her, but she never did. I kept coming by with my water pitcher, hoping she'd have drank enough from her glass for me to pour some more and eventually she'd have to pee. No such luck.

So I'll probably never see her again. But the overall situation was positive, because it's been a long time since I've really been interested in asking anyone out. Getting my heart broken, then having the shitty medical problems, and living a schedule that affords no opportunities for social interaction, had killed my drive to date. I'd also gained back some of the 120 lbs I'd lost, which, beyond being a disappointment, made my self-confidence lag. I'm feeling good about myself now, and tonight was a bit of a reawakening. The winter is over. It felt good.

So, if you're the cute girl who came in tonight at 7:15 and sat by the window, couldn't decide between the pierogies or golupki, and laughed with me about the folk singer's cover of the Alanis Morissette song, then shoot me an e-mail, okay? I'd like to get to know you better.

Later on in the evening, a woman came in who talked my ear off about her terrible day. She was an odd duck, and I could tell she was a little off. Still, when she left, she said that I restored her faith in human nature. That's the kind of compliment you don't get everyday. I guess it wasn't a bad night. Cute girl, weird woman complimenting me, could be worse.

Gosh, I'm tired. I'm off to bed.