Friday, Mar. 26, 2004

Ferrick 3/25/04, posted at 7:15 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

The weather has finally decided to turn the corner, going from the high thirties to the low seventies in just a few days' time. Today is a teacher inservice day, without students, and that's usually a pretty easy day. We do good work - it's not like we're slacking off - but this is how I imagine other peoples' jobs to be. You just go in, do what you've got to do, and go home. Sometimes, people have things prepared for you. Other times, like today, you have a task to complete, often in curriculum teams, and you complete it. No stress about a lesson plan or making copies on dilapidated machines or finding paper. It's nice to have a day like that every now and then.

I get to leave the professional day early, however, as my team has its second baseball game of the season. I'm hoping for a much better effort. That's all I have to say about that. Than, it's out for a happy hour.

Last night, I went to go see Melissa Ferrick with a couple of friends at Ram's Head in Appanopolis. It was great to see her live again, and, even though it didn't strike me like other shows of hers have, she was still great. I wish she didn't have to play "Drive" every time. I wish she had played "Nebraska" and "Willing to Wait." But enough quibbling. She was great - high energy and hilarious and spellbinding. I tried to count up, and I think this was the 10th time I'd seen her live. She's amazing. My lesbian version of Bruce Springstreen.

That's all.