Monday, Mar. 08, 2004

Team meeting, posted at 7:09 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I just finished a terrific practice with my team. I feel like they all worked very hard and I think they'll all feel sore tomorrow. So far, I'm okay with keeping all the players that I did.

During the pre-game meeting, I outlined the following points:

A) The team will be divided into two squads, the "A" squad and the "B" squad. The A squad will be the 14 best players on the team, while the B squad will be the rest. The full squad will practice on Mondays and Thursdays, but the other days, just the A squad will practice. I'm doing this because there is no JV team, but I want to develop as many young players as possible. However, I cannot provide enough individual attention on all the players if I invited all 27 to practice every day. So only two days a week do I have both groups. Period.

B) Students can work their way from one squad to another through hard work and skills enhancement.

C) My goals for the year are a city championship and an increase in the status of the baseball team. I want swarms of people there. We're going to have a dress code on game days. I want posters. We're going to make baseball a big fucking deal at school, because we're going to win a championship this year.

Some of the kids were pissed at being on the "B" squad, but that's okay. I can handle kids being pissed at me, as long as it makes them play better.

Weird stuff keeps happening at school. We had about our 20th break-in over the weekend, this time of my dept head's office. It's an inside job but no one's talking. This is the third time in two weeks that the police have been in to dust for fingerprints. I swear, this year couldn't get any weirder.