Wednesday, Feb. 25, 2004

Horrible Day, posted at 10:01 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Entry #2 of the day: I am so angry right now.

I was in the administrative building from 9:16 until 9:24. I was parked legally. During that time, though, my car was booted and later towed because of unpaid parking tickets.

I owe $2400 in parking tickets.

I can't afford it anytime soon. I'll be without a car indefinitely.

My luck is amongst the worst in the world. No wonder I'm alone.

I have no idea what I will do.

Amnesty Day doesn't work if you have surgery on the day. I kept putting off going (my fault), but was going to go today to negotiate with them. Once you're booted, though, there's no negotation, or so I've heard. Baltimore's system of parking tickets is absolutely horrible, and they didn't inform me about it until it was far too late. I've had six parking tickets since I moved to Baltimore, and I never knew until it was way too late that the amount goes up month by month. I just figured the parking tickets were like those in Michigan, where the fine is $5. Here, though, a $20 ticket turns into $800, which is what one of mine is. I received all of them on days I was a few minutes late waking up and getting out out of my 7:30am parking spot, but all before 7:40. This is three months rent and I can't believe it.

I'm going to go throw up, I'm so colossolly unhappy right now. I don't know how I'm going to get to school tomorrow, even. This is also the month that I decided to make a triple car payment, so using my tax return is out of the question.

I'm really beginning to hate my life. I feel like for a year now, things have been piled on me that I don't deserve, because I'm really a good person, and while I have no illusions that life is fair, I also have no idea why the cosmic forces of the universe have decided to descend upon me their wrath for a whole year now. Does this mean I need to leave Baltimore? Reset myself somehow? I don't know at all. I'm at a complete and total loss. Just when I think things are looking up, the rug is swept out from under me. Again and again and again.

I find it depressing that my "It'll all work out" attitude is dying, being replaced by fatalistic cynicism. The last year has done that to me. I hate it, hate it, hate it.