Tuesday, Aug. 26, 2003

Last day of summer vacation, posted at 12:07 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I'm glad you all like the pictures from Italy.

Today is the last day of summer vacation. I must admit that, unlike many teachers, I'm excited about getting back to school. I must be a big dork. I just need to get back to a regular schedule and begin my routines again. Summer vacation is way too long. I would much, much rather go to school and get more breaks throughout the year than getting one long one in the summer. I know we started the system because of farming, but that doesn't apply to most communities any more. While I relish the chance to recharge my batteries, it doesn't take two and a half months. Why not take 3-4 weeks off in the summer, then take a couple more week breaks during the school year? I would much rather do that. It's time to dump the antiquated system.

I finished The Bee Season last night. Like real life, there were no happy endings. I keep wondering what I'm going to tell people when they ask what the book, this amazing book that bowled me over like no book in years has, is about. "Well, ostensibly it's about a girl who competes in spelling bees, but it's also about spirituality, mental illness, family, and the forces that pull people who love one another apart." I should really work on a less dorky summary. This is the book, however, that will be my suggestion for the English Department's book club, in which we read modern day classics or forgotten masterpieces with the idea that we want to diversify or modernize our curriculum a bit. Charles has already chosen our September title: The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven by Sherman Alexie. I have it on my shelf, begging to be read. Soon.

My new roommate moves in today, and I really should be at home cleaning up the house and especially his bedroom. But I'm not. I'm beginning to savor my daily time here at school, scouring the Internet and wasting time. Without the Internet at home anymore, I'm appreciating it more than ever.

I also keep staring at the desks in my classroom (did I tell you I no longer have to float? Yup, I put the smack down on that idea) and wondering how I'm going to arrange them. I want to do something fresh, and am thinking about some sort of classroom forum arrangement, with the desks in almost a round/square table arrangement. I dunno. I'm playing around with it.

In other news, I do not think I can survive without a gym membership. As soon as the money starts rolling in, I need to go back to Bally's. As my sister told me yesterday, that is money well spent. My pants are feeling tight. I'm not sure if it's mental or not, but I'm concerned. Working out at home just does not have the same verve.