Monday, Jun. 02, 2003

The card attached would say, "Thank you for being a friend", posted at 9:16 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Just so you don't think that I spend all of my television viewing time watching high quality programming, I wanted to let you know that tonight I spent a half hour watching Fear Factor (a show I hate, but my roommate had it on and I found it oddly engrossing, probably because the show's winner was this little southern girl with the biggest boobs I've ever seen) and The Golden Girls Reunion on Lifetime.

I think Bea Arthur and Betty White are comedic geniuses. It's sad that Estelle Getty did not participate. I mean, how healthy do you have to be to sit in a room and talk about a show that you were once on. It makes me think she's probably pretty ill. If you check out the official Estelle Getty website, things do not look promising. It says that each day presents a different struggle, and that she will not (cannot?) be signing any more autographs.

Did you know there are actually sites on the Internet where you can enter a Celebrity Death Pool? I've never been morbid enough to actually enter, but I have browsed the sites. For some, you get points for picking one that is probably out of the blue. One site gives you points for however young they are under 100, so you wouldn't get many points for Ronald Reagan (92 years old) Gloria Stuart (92), Hume Cronyn (92) or Katherine Hepburn (96), but you would have gotten many points if you had, say, chosen David Bloom (39 when he died a couple of months ago). Also, for some, once a celebrity announces they have a terminal illness, they are disqualified. So picking Warren Zevon, who only has a couple of months to live, is not allowed. But Estelle Getty would net you 20 points, in case you're wondering.

By the way, Bea Arthur has aged an awful lot since the show. Did you know that she was actually older than Estelle Getty, who ironically played her mother? Bea Arthur just turned 80. Betty White just turned 81, and she has changed the least. That's probably because she's still be on a few TV shows since The Golden Girls.