Monday, Apr. 21, 2003

O's Game, posted at 10:47 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I'm doing fine. The news about my car is sucky, but I talked with Gale on Friday, and her words of, "What can you do?" rang through my ears most of the weekend. Really, I can't do much. I can live with it.

Yesterday, I was tempted to spend another day like I have most of my break - go to the gym, run a few errands, then come back and grade papers. But Bill called me while I was on the way to the gym, inviting me to the Orioles game. I opted out of the usual, dashed off to the stadium, and had one of the best afternoons in a long time.

The weather was beautiful, the beer tasted great, and the game - an Orioles victory - reminded me of what a great sport baseball is. Bill and I argued about the importance of closers in baseball, the usage of Tony Clark when he was with the Red Sox - great baseball conversation. Afterwards, we met up with Renee at a bar across the street. After that, we met up with Rob, Michelle, and Kristen down at this terrific place called The Thirsty Dog, located in Federal Hill. You can even bring your dogs there. Great atmosphere, and the best blueberry beer I've ever had.

It was a Sunday to live on forever in my mind when I think of the uneventful Spring Break of '03 - good friends and good times. I needed that.

Today is the last day of this respite from work, and I plan on finishing up on my grading, mowing the lawn, getting my tires replaced, and not spending any more time on the computer.