Saturday, Feb. 01, 2003

Note from kid, posted at 2:09 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Dear Mr. Epiphany:

Just wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for everything you have done for me. Here is a small gift. I do hope you will enjoy it.

Sincerely,

Jonathan

Is he freaking kidding me. Everything I've done for him? This kid has inspired me with his never-say-die attitude, his irrepresible good attitude, and sincere desire to learn and to succeed for the last year and a half. And he's getting a gift for me? Huh?

We're racing our a mile in the spring. I told him off the cuff that I could beat him in a race, not expecting him to take it seriously, and the next night his dad is telling me all about this race that he's going to judge. Better get practicing.

Nick's b-day is tonight. It's going to be a wild night. Much more wild than last night's Friday trip to the laundromat.