2002-01-03

Resolutions going okay so far, posted at 8:55 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

My New Years Resolutions so far are going well. I did 40 minutes on the bike and ran a mile both this morning and yesterday morning, and last night Jason and I had our first co-working weights session. I now have that wonderful sore feeling you get when you know you've worked your body well. I also finally got back to The Corrections last night, and read around 40 pages, and read 50 pages or so of The Chosen on the exercise bike this morning. That's two of my resolutions. In addition, my classroom is still clean, and I'm well-prepared for my classes today.

I'm not getting enough sleep, though. I took a relatively short nap yesterday upon returning from work (I had gone to sleep at around midnight and woke up at 5am on Wednesday morning, and was tired by the end of the day), and somehow sleeping that 45 minutes screwed up any ability for me to fall asleep at night. I was up until nearly 1am, after retreating to bed at around 10:30. There is little more frustrating than not being able to sleep. I got up eventually to look for Ny-Quill to take, and after not finding it I contemplated taking a shot of the huge amounts of alcohol we have left over from the New Years holiday. I couldn't stomach the thought, and wasn't sure if it would help me get to sleep anyway, so I had some pretzels and went back down there. I finally fell asleep about a half hour later.

Even though the nap screwed up my schedule, my exhaustion this morning - despite the good workout this morning, which usually gets me flowing pretty well - is making my mind set on one thing upon returning home. A nap. Ugh. Since there's nothing on TV tonight except for reruns, I think I'm just going to try to stay up as long as possible and hopefully get to sleep at around 9pm or so.

I'm hoping the weekend storm will come up here and give us a bit of snow. I'm curious as to the city's reaction to it. What I would love is to have school cancelled at least one day this winter. I'd even enjoy a day in which teachers have to come in but students don't... I wonder if that would back it so we didn't have to go to school for extra days in the summer? I could use a day to catch up on the huge amount of papers that I have to grade this weekend. I was supposed to do them over break, but it didn't happen. Urgh.

I'm ready to stop typing now. Have a good day.