2001-12-05

The date, New Year's plans, more, posted at 7:41 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Updates:

A. Progress Reports are due today, and I've been really busy this week getting everything caught up.

B. I had a date last night, and it was okay. She's nice. We went to a really boring astromony lecture on the Hubble Telescope, but was glad to hear afterwards that she was bored too. It was way over my head, and the guy giving it was like every aloof college professor I ever had. But she was nice. She's way quiet, and not the normal verbal sparring partner that I'm normally attracted to, but we made tentative plans to get together again. If nothing else, at least she'll be a friend in the city. She laughed when my dog jumped up on her. She actually asked me to go to another similar activity on Thursday night, but I can't make it. So we'll probably go to a movie this weekend. Ocean 11 looks so good.

C. New Year's plans are getting all weird. Twelve people are coming down, sort of divided into three different groups that don't know each other well. Trying to coordinate them and make everyone happy will be a challenge. The point of contention right now seems to be where we are going to be on the night of the New Year's. We had discussed a swanky party with an open bar, lots of different dancing, karaoke, and a meal, but the $129 price is steep for some. Someone brought up NYC, but a three hour drive, no place to put the car, and terrorist threats to the area on that night are putting a damper on that. They're not even dropping the ball that night, and I can't imagine going to NYC for New Year's and missing that. Train tickets there are $80, so we wouldn't be saving any money once hotel/drinks/meals are factored in. And I've heard there literally is no place to park that time of year. I'm running out of other options. My roommate is a go-with-the-flow type of guy, and his only desire is to go out somewhere. I'd be happy having a party, but I don't think most others would. We could just bar-hop, but that could be expensive. I don't know. I don't know...

D. I still haven't shaved. I doesn't exactly look like the scruff that grows on the faces of movie stars when they don't shave, or like the guy on the cover of this month's Men's Health magazine that is laying on our coffee table, but it's an interesting look nonetheless. There are no mirrors in school, so the first thing I do once I get back to my car is pull down the mirror on my sunvisor to remind myself what I look like with scruff. I don't know if it's going to grow in all the way. I may shave it off this weekend.

E. Some colleagues are taking me out for a tour of the city after school today. We're going to eat at the best Thai restaurant in Baltimore, then check out some other places I've been wondering about. They're two women who I always eat lunch with, and I find myself more of an observer of their conversation rather than a participant. They always talk about things that I just can't seem to get into, like interior decorating, or their husbands, or school politics about folks who I don't know. But they're funny. I think it'll be fun.

F. Thursday night is the annual Monument Lighting ceremony in the city, and our choir is performing. It's supposed to be awe-inspiring. It's tough to get into the Christmas spirit when it's 70 degrees out, but I'm certainly not complaining. Although, it would be pretty cool to have a snow day or two before the trip home. As long as it all melts before I have to make the drive, that is.

G. I have a big zit on the top of my nose. It looks awful.

On that note, it is time to get back to grading.