2001-11-30

John Knowles, George Harrison, posted at 1:30 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

It's a sad day in celebrity death news.

George Harrison's album Cloud Nine was the first album I ever got (along with Tiffany, but we won't go there). Yes, it was an actual album that you play on a record player. I vividly remember loving his video for "I've Got My Mind Set On You" in Redford, and even making our own version of it that is still on videotape somewhere at my parents' house.

The saddest part about his death? Now, two of the Beatles have not made it to 64. That thought alone put tears in my eyes. Such a joyous song, now made incredibly melancholy.

And I just heard that John Knowles died. The Separate Peace has always been a book I enjoyed, with its confused, jealous, and authentic narration and lines like, "That was the summer that I realized that sarcasm was the humor of the weak." (I might be paraphrasing that a bit, but you get the point.)

Sad sad sad.