2001-11-15

NCTE - where is it?, posted at 4:06 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

My week is over. It wasn't that great of a day, but ended well. In the morning, I lost my temper a little bit with a boy who was talking. Another student who always riles me up had pissed me off, and I think I sort of took it out against this other student. I apologized later. I eventually sent the other kid out in the hallway, and the whole class cheered when I did. What a punk. I'm both writing him up and calling his mom.

My freshmen were really good today, for the most part. At the end of class, I had to hand out report cards, and they were all anxious to get them. I told them that if they were good, then I'd hand them out before the bell rang instead of after. They were good. I only had to hand out one detention. Everyone was getting up and moving around and being distracting early on, so I said, "Okay, the next person who gets up without permission will get a detention." And this girl, as a joke, stood up really quick and sat down. "15 Minutes," I said.

I hate the fact that I have to use these punishments as a way to get my students to act better. But oh well. Hopefully I'll eventually have my classroom management skills down pat and not have to worry about silly stuff like people talking when I'm talking. I can't wait to have a whole new group of students next semester, so I can correct the mistakes that I made this semester.

I haven't gotten out of here as quickly as I wanted to, because I'm trying to figure out where the NCTE convention is tomorrow. All I know is that it's downtown. I can't find anywhere on their website as to where it is. I'm pretty annoyed. I'm currently waiting for a huge file to download so I can see if the info is on there. I'm not quite sure what I'm going to do if I can't find the information.

I wonder if they intentionally didn't put that kind of specific information down there so unregistered folks like me wouldn't just show up? Ha!

The concert is tonight, and friends are coming down tomorrow. A very exciting weekend will be had. I didn't even bring any papers home to grade. Woo-hoo!

And, the file just downloaded, and I now know where I'm going tomorrow. See you later.