2001-11-01

I'm gonna head to the mountains., posted at 4:06 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Yup, I'm definitely ready for this trip.

My students just left my room an absolute junkheap - candy wrappers, markers, and trash were all over. The desks were left in disarray. Part of it was my fault for not noticing until they were gone. But my gosh, why are they so fucking rude? Do they think I enjoy bending down on my hands and knees to clean up their stupid mess, or at least enough of it so the custodians aren't burdened with it? My gosh.

I've got to do a better job with a lot of things, that included. I cannot wait until next semester, when I have a whole fresh group of students that I can start clean with. A whole new group that I can be a mean bastard too. Being nice just hasn't worked. I called up the parents of a girl who did not serve her detention today. Yay, me.

There were moments today that were really good. One of my freshmen presentations included a very clever and humorous talk show discussion on why Harper Lee decided to tell her story through the character of Scout. But, overall, it was another stressful day. And the kids were too damned loud. Yet again.

Anyhow, I'll be in the mountains in Western Maryland at this time tomorrow, with seven 15-year old boys. The two girls dropped out. Just me and the boys, and whoever our Outward Bound leader is. I think it'll be fun. I can't wait. I think this is what I need to regain some sense that teenagers are actually good people and not just the bane of my existence.

Lord, I hope the substitute is competent. I'm going to try not to worry about it all weekend.

(Things are good. Really. Talk to you on Wednesday morning.)