2001-10-27

A night out with B&L, posted at 12:26 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Ha ha. I just did something I've never done before. I filled out an Internet personal ad. Wow. I'm still in a state of shock. It was completely spur-of-the-moment, as I generally just delete the stupid e-mails that my hotmail account generally tends to attract. But I went ahead and did it. We will see what, if anything, comes of it.

I remember the days when I thought that sort of behavior was pretty weird. This is definitely a "new Mark" type of action.

Yesterday was a busy day at school. It seemed like I spent the whole day prepping for stuff - for the day's lessons, the sub plans for my Outward Bound Appalacchian Mountain trip, etc. There were some difficulties with printers, and I had to improvise with my freshmen. It went well nonetheless.

Last night, Jason and I met Bart and Lashonnia for a movie. They're the couple we stayed with for over two weeks back at the end of August, as we were transitioning between Michigan and Maryland. They're great people, extremely hospitable with hilarious interactions with one another. They live about 90 minutes away, so we met halfway for both of us, in Frederick, MD (the home of Camp David).

First, we ate at Hoolihan's, and it was quite mediocre food and service but we had a great time making fun of and imitating the waitress. We then went to see "K-Pax," which I had wanted to see ever since I saw the first preview for it.

Wow, did it ever suck. Slow, long, unoriginal, and uninvolving, the movie was a big disappointment. Everything in the film - from the mental ward patients being "cured" (Awakenings, Girl, Interrupted), to the is-he-an-alien-or-isn't-he plot (StarMan, more) have been done many times over in other movies. Kevin Spacey, who I generally love, wasn't that good. At one point, when his character was under hypnosis, I just looked at him and thought to myself, "Wow. I don't believe him at all right now." Anyhow, the movie sucked. It was my top choice out of a lot of movies out right now that I want to see (Riding in Cars With Boys, From Hell, Mulholland Drive, The Last Castle), but it turned out to be awful.

Bart and Lashonia provided the most amusement for the evening. They act like an old married couple, constantly bickering and calling each other names in a humorous manner.

L: "Stop, Bart, there's an ATM right there!"

B: "Well, why don't you get your skanky butt out of the car and go to it?"

L: "It's not our bank, butthead."

B: "Then why do you want me to stop, dickwad?"

Yup, he called her a dickwad - with a big grin on his face, and one on hers as well. I know this story does not translate well to the paper (I think I would read this and wonder if they weren't abusive towards each other), but it's all in good fun. Lashonia offered a few zingers of her own in Bart's direction throughout the trip. They remind me of the comic strip The Lockhorns. And they celebrate their eleventh anniversary together this year (she's 23, he's 25, and they've been married two years).

Well, I'm off to the grocery store, Sears, and, as a reward to myself, Ikea.