2001-10-11

It's a good morning, posted at 7:56 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

It's 8:02 am, and I'm back at school. I only left about 11 hours ago.

Still, I feel oddly good about things. I didn't come in this morning to work out, because I got ditched yesterday (I came in at 6:35am, being the first car in the parking lot, and had to wait out there in the cold for a half hour before anyone else showed up) and didn't want to risk another inactive morning. Instead, I worked out with the small set of weights that I have at home, sitting in front of a mixture of Sportscenter, CNN, Matt Laurer and Katie Couric before leaving at 7:35. I was surprised to see a ticket on my car when I left. I usually leave long before 7:30, so it's never affected before, but you cannot park on my side of the street between 7:30 and 9am. I somehow got a ticket in those five minutes. In addition, the ticket said "7:40am," which pissed me off to no end because it wasn't even 7:40 when I got out there. Not that I can prove it, though.

Still, I've somehow concluded in my mind that because I still have Michigan plates, they won't be able to track me down that easily, and I'm not going to pay the $20 fine unless I get pulled over. It's not like parking tickets accrue interest. I'm fine.

Thus, the beauty of the morning (sunny, mildly warm) combined with the fact that today is Thursday and I've got my day's lessons planned has lifted my spirits. Tomorrow is payday, tonight both Survivor and Friends (tape one, watch the other) and ER are on (normally I'd be excited about Will & Grace too, but I think its quality has dipped dramatically so far this season. But we'll see), and I worked out hard this morning and it feels great.

Last night, the open house for prospective students was rather anticlimactic. Poorly organized and sparsely attended, it didn't do much for me. Still, I got some brownie points for volunteering at it, and it certainly wasn't tough labor. I scrapped my earlier plan to stay at school all day, and went home for a couple hours to eat dinner in between the open house and the end of school.

I decided to try to brush Holden's teeth last night with an old toothbrush and some Aqua Fresh. The veterinarian had mentioned that I should be careful to keep his teeth clean, and I know from my past dogs that dogs' teeth can get all tartar-y and gross. So I did. Boy, did he hate it. I felt bad. I couldn't get near him with the toothbrush after the initial time I put it in his mouth. I guess I'll need to use gauze and toothpaste next time I get in the mood to do it. Apparently there's doggy toothpaste that perhaps he'll like better.

I watched a bit of baseball last night after the confusing season premiere of The West Wing. Gosh, I miss watching it; I haven't since I arrived here because I can no longer watch Tigers games. The game was good - I'd love it if Oakland wins it all. I really like Oakland GM Billy Beane's emphasis on the importance of OBA in developing his team - it's an underrated stat, not even listed in a lot of stats sheets. But he built his team based on that stat, and it's paying off in a big way. Anybody but the Yankees - I hate 'em. The Mariners would be cool too, because they're a fun team to watch and had such a good season, or even the Astros (if only because with Brad Ausmus, Dave Mlicki, and a few other ex-Tigers on the team, their winning will make Tigers GM Randy Smith look even worse and maybe even get fired... although he pretty much fits the definition right now of "What does a guy have to do to get fired around here?")