2001-09-26

Dog hunting, posted at 8:13 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Right after school yesterday, I went to the Humane Society.

It was nice. While I didn't go there to bring home a dog that night, I wanted to get a feel of things. I got pre-approved for adoption, and checked out a lot of the dogs and cats that were available.

It was heart-breaking to walk through the rows of dogs and not take one home. If one had really grabbed me, though, I would have done it yesterday. But one didn't. It feels horrible to reject dogs that have already been rejected. A dog that reminded me of my parents' wonderful dog Molly (a black lab/cocker spaniel mix) caught my eye, and I ended up asking to take her out and look at her more. So the volunteer took her and I out to the "Fun Run," and there this dog ended up losing my interest. She only seemed interested in the volunteer, not in me. And upon closer inspection of the dog, which I knew was a lab mix, I could tell that the father was a Pit Bull. Something about the snout. I have an undue prejudice against pit bulls, so this was a turnoff. The dog didn't seem to like me.

It felt horrible, though. I knew in my head that what I was asking the dog to do in the short time of meeting me wasn't reasonable, yet I was expecting it. This is going to be a tough decision.

I also took a special liking to Zeus, who seemed like a sweet dog. But I was worried about how big it would get, and I didn't like its bark.

I'm so picky. I'm horrible. I came back with an overwhelming feeling of guilt. This is going to be a tough decision, but I think I should take my time with it since this is the next 15 years of my life I'm talking about.

I'm also wondering whether to get a puppy, or a dog that's slightly older. We'll see. I'll go back in a few days and see what's there.

Today is inservice day. I'm not looking forward to it, but at least someone else had to plan it and not me. I didn't do any work at home last night; it was wonderful. I'm also anticipating my parents' arrival this Friday - I'm a little nervous that I won't keep them entertained enough.