2001-09-24

funny readers, posted at 2:52 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

It was a good day.

My kids amuse me so much. We were reading "The Scarlet Letter" today, and this one little boy whose biggest goal in life is to become the first African American gold medal winner in swimming and is probably about 4'8", was reading. In the middle of a particularly involved Hawthorne paragraph, he bursts out, "Dang, Mr. M! This don't make any sense!". I laughed.

In oral reading of "To Kill a Mockingbird" with my freshmen (who got a new seating chart today and were very well-behaved), this one girl was reading a paragraph. Before every couple lines, she would unconsciously say, "It says...". Highly amusing. She didn't even know she was saying it.

I've got some work to do. There is a tornado warning. How nice that the threat tonight is a natural one, not a military one.