2001-06-14

Job Offer, posted at 1:43 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Charlotte called today and offered me a position. I have to decide by Friday or I don't get the $2000 signing bonus.

I have no idea what to do.

Pros: I'd have a job. Charlotte is not in Michigan, it's in NC. It's warm there. It was a diverse high school. It's a magnet school and the kids do their work. The principal is from MSU. There are five other teachers from Michigan. A nice school. Didn't get to see much of Charlotte, so hard to make a judgement on the city. I'd have a $2000 signing bonus.

Cons: Rigid curriculum. NC ranks #1 in standardized tests for students. I won't feel like I'm helping kids as much as when I'm in an urban school with more at-risk kids. Charlotte wasn't that exciting, at least the brief part of it that we saw. Despite bonus, NC teaching salaries still pretty low. Far from ocean. Costly. It's not Richmond.

I don't know. I just don't know. I have no freaking idea what I want to do at this point.