2001-06-15

more deciding, posted at 3:37 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Okay, so I have about an hour to decide for sure. Right now I am leaning towards not taking the position in Charlotte. While it is something of a risky move, because I don't have anything else lined up, I am thinking it will be best if I don't take this right now. Reasons why: The salary sucks. They won't pay me to get my master's (this was something that Yelnad reminded me to check out.) I'm feeling a little unsure about the Charlotte area as well. Yes, it would be nice to be done with this job search and have that stress reduced. The school and principal seem cool. Even the principal's wife seems cool; I spoke with her today. It would be nice to be nearer to my grandparents and Aunt Pam, both of whom wish I would choose Charlotte. But I'm not sure if all those factors make up for the other things. I called up Baltimore today. They offer 75% tuition reimbursement and a starting salary of $34,000+. It would be much easier for Jason to find a job there (he tells me not to make this a factor at all, but it creeps its way into my mind nevertheless). I think the area sounds really neat. I'm still not confident. If the principal schmoozes me a little bit when I call, then, well, you never know...