2001-05-14

Move your fish tank, posted at 10:12 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Well, it took a whole year, but Mary Lou has finally found another way to piss me off. The woman pissed me off more than any other person at this university during the summer of 1999 (my summer of depression), and I was pretty tentative to get involved with her again when I came back to the complex. She was gone most of the year having a baby, though, and was nice to me whenever I saw her.

Today when I returned from school (it was a half day), my apartment was opened up and two maintenance workers were sitting on the hallway looking into my room. Apparently they needed to move some shit to get in the new ethernet cords and didn't want to do it themselves. So they sat there with my door open. Now, I'm a slob, but I'm sort of a closet slob and I don't like people to know. My room is pretty slobby right now. To have them sitting there with my door open pissed me right off.

Apparently, they're making me move my entertainment center so that they can install an ethernet access card there. Unfortunately, my entertainment center is home to my 25-gallon fish aquarium. Moving my entertainment center means emptying out the aquarium and then refilling it, as well as moving all my CD's, my stereo, and just basically turning my life upside down.

This pisses me off because the timing is so bad. I have to move by June 1. However, I cannot move until May 20. Therefore, I only have about a week left in this dump. I'm not about to replace all the water in my fish tank and refill it - a job that takes hours - when I've just got to do it again in a week. I'm working full-time; I don't have that kind of time. It's not really Mary Lou's fault, but she's a nice scapegoat right now. With their shitty lack of vegetarian options all year and now this, I haven't been too pleased with Housing here this year.

I played "Great Expectations" jeopardy with my kids today, and we had a halfday. A half day is so easy. The class periods are 25 minutes - pretty much a useless amount of time - but event though it's not too good for the kids, it's great for the teachers. By great, I mean easy.

I'm sending off an application for Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools tomorrow. It's the first official application I've completed. Woo-hoo!