2001-04-14

Friday night, posted at 7:49 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Last night was well worth it. Jason, Erin, Gale, Jenni, and I went out and had some fun. We started at a Mexican restaurant, eating burritos and drinking margeritas. We then hopped to three other bars, ending up at a karaoke place that was pretty fun. It wasn't overcrowded like usual, as it's Eastern weekend, and it was fun. I was fairly drunk, but nothing excessive. Jason is one of my best friends. We lived with each other for our first two years of college (we were suitemates both years, sharing the same bathroom but not the same room), and have remained close ever since. Jason was the one I was supposed to be living with this year, but he backed out the weekend before graduation. He decided he didn't want to go to school this year, and wanted to find a job in his major. I knew it wouldn't work, and it didn't. He's substitute teaching and living at home. I feel sort of bad for him, as I know he wishes he was in my shoes right now and he had made a different decision a year ago. He's told me that much. I'm not one to say, "I told you so," so I haven't. Anyhow, Jason told me last night that he'd like to move with me wherever I decide to get a job. He feels like he's falling into a rut here in Michigan (I agree, but didn't tell him so). It made me pretty excited. Having a roommate would definitely make living on my own for the first time easier. And Jason's a great guy. We'll see if it happens. Back to the night. Erin and I sang "I Got You Babe" together. Jason and I ran into a guy who used to live on our floor. It was a warm night, and walking was nice. Today, Gale and I went out to breakfast and continued working on Simon's gift - a "thank you" for our trip to Boston over New Year's. Gale has definitely become one of my best friends. She is one of the best conversationalists in the world, with a great sense of humor. It is interesting to chart the growth of our friendship. At this time last year, we were merely acquaintances. Since then, we had the drinking game to "Romy and Michelle's High School Reunion," camping trips, trips across the country, working together for a whole summer, and now I'd say we're pretty close. I enjoy her company immensely, and hope we have a fun summer. We're planning trips camping, whitewater rafting, to Detroit Tiger games, and to Stratford.