Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005

Better, posted at 5:57 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

(Epiph),

I have spoken with our liaison at the Maryland State Department of Education, and was told that the certificate that was issued WAS INCORRECT, and that a new certificate with the correct dates of 7/1/04 to 7/01/09 will be issued.

Linda

So this is the e-mail I just received in my inbox when I returned home.

Wow, what a relief. If you don't know what it means, it's that those certification worries that started last week were in error, just like I knew. It appears the state of Maryland were the ones at fault, though, not the City. This is good news, because I don't think the city could have done anything if it was at fault; they have to go by what the state says. I'm still in a state of shock that it appears everything has worked out okay.

I was already in a much better mood than I was yesterday. Coffee in the morning helped. Sleep last night - both a two hour nap from 6-8, then a full night's sleep from midnight until seven (not a schedule I necessarily advocate or enjoy, but I was so sleep deprived that I needed it). Two diet mountain dews in the middle of the day perked me up. Getting through almost all of my B day papers today after school helped. I feel pretty good today.

I also had the pre-season meeting for the baseball team. A colleague said to me, "Geez, what date do the major leaguers report to spring training?" I'm not really having them start to practice, but my team captains want to organize some pre-season getting-in-shape stuff and that sounds good to me. I had about 45 kids come. It's going to break my heart to cut 25 of them.

Otherwise, it was a good day. How could it not be - yesterday I was dusting off the resume, today I'm feeling the need to backpeddle. I saw the shadow down in the office when I came in, but he was walking the other way and I didn't think about him the rest of the day. Otherwise, it was a day of fun Odyssey presentations, catching up on work, and slapping together an effective Romantic Poetry lesson (ick) in the manner of twenty minutes. "The Tyger" was actually a pretty cool poem; I wasn't expecting it to be.

I'm home now, and will try to figure out what task shall occupy my time the rest of the night. I know the gym, The Simpsons, and grading Frankenstein tests are three of those tasks. Having a bowl of cereal for dinner? Already done.